Reclining Chakras


Chakras are the visual representation of the energy centers in the body.  Mine are reclining. My daughter says its because I’m lazy.  Chakras are found in many different cultures, all the way from Hindu culture to modern day Western cultures. You can find references to them everywhere. But what are they and how do they relate to a discussion of color? See Below.
SKU: N/A Categories: ,


Chakras are the visual representation of the energy centers in the body.  Mine are reclining. My daughter says its because I’m lazy.  Chakras are found in many different cultures, all the way from Hindu culture to modern day Western cultures.

Chakras are the energy centers of the body. They are all connected to major parts of the body. There are seven energy centers of the body: Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Third Eye, and Crown Chakra. They all are centered on the spine. They are used in many different ways in different cultures, and they all have colors associated with them.

The root chakra, also called Muladhara or the base chakra, is at the base of the spine where the genitals, adrenal glands, and the adrenal medulla are located.
chakras_7_20130705_1742806725  Its color is red. It is connected with instinct, security, survival, environmental influences, and also to basic human potential. It works with your fight or flight responses, and it also effects your self-confidence and sense of self. With the root chakra in balance, you will be able to cope with hardships and challenges.

The sacral chakra is the second chakra, also called Swadhisthana. Located near the sacrum and testicles/ovaries is located just below the navel.

chakras_6_20130705_1772403556   Its color is orange. This chakra relates to the base of emotions, creativity, fulfillment and sexuality. It also works with your hopes and dreams for the future.  When this is out of balance, it may cause dramatic mood swings. With it in balance, you will feel comfortable with yourself. This leads you to have more conference in yourself.

The solar plexus chakra is the third chakra, Manipura. It is located at the solar plexus just above the navel. It works with the pancreas and the outer adrenal glands, the adrenal cortex.
chakras_5_20130705_2001853459  Its color is yellow. This is the base of complex emotions, your ego, talents, person gifts, energy, assimilation, and digestion. This chakra builds off the ones before it. It will allow you to manifest positive results and help to reach your goals.

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra, Anahata. It is located in the middle of the chest. The immune system and endocrine system are controlled by this chakra.
chakras_4_20130705_1508767150  Its color is green. When this is in balance you will be able to lower your stress and have an easier time fighting off diseases. When you open the heart energy zone, you will be able to love without boundaries. This will open you to growth and healing.

The throat chakra is the fifth chakra. It is also called either Vishuddha or Vishuddhi. It is located paralleled to the thyroid, which is a gland in the throat that produces hormones for growth and maturation.
chakras_3_20130705_1480535419  Its color is light blue (combined in the image with the sixth chakra below). The throat chakra deals with all forms of communication. This is where you will find your psychic gifts. This is the first chakra that is connected to the pure spiritual realm. It is the gateway to the astral body. When you are in balance you will be able to listen just as well as you can communicate. Listening is the most important part to communicating.

The third eye chakra is the sixth chakra, Ajna or Bindu. This is located in the middle of the forehead, right about where the pineal gland is located. The pineal gland produces a hormone called melatonin which regulates sleep and awakening.

Its color is indigo. It makes sense that this is where the psychic awareness rests. When your third eye is in balance, you are able to see the unseen, including your past lives, and are able to feel what others feel. Keep in mind that when you open this chakra, you might become selfish, so you need to keep others in mind to keep yourself in balance.

The crown chakra is the seventh and last chakra. It is also known as Sahasrara. It is located at the crown of the head. It is at the center of your central nervous system.
chakras_2_20130705_1216459314   Its color is purple or some see it as white. The crown chakra works with the higher self. When you are able to balance this chakra you will be able to reach that higher plane. You will no longer be driven by your ego. You will feel the spite flow through you and out of your soul. All of your needs will be met and you will be in love with the universe. Your life will be in complete balance with the physical and spiritual.

The white/gold Soul Star connects the body with the soul and floats above the head. Although not a chakra in the strictest sense, it is the conduit of the energy flow of the body to the universal spirit.


Additional information

Weight N/A
Size & Medium

10" x 14" Paper, 10" x 14" Canvas, 16" x 20" Paper, 16" x 20" Canvas, 20" x 24" Paper, 20" x 24" Canvas

Product Enquiry